top of page



The Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management is designed to equip learners with a comprehensive understanding of risk management. It focuses on assessing ISO standard harmonization programs, evaluating tools for reviewing organizational strategy and risk plans, and using appropriate tools to review an organization's market position. The course also delves into contemporary CSR risk management issues, adapting leadership and management styles for various organizational risk situations, and exploring a range of risk financing options. Participants will learn to prepare risk management plans through environmental screening, assess the standardized approach for credit risk following Basel III guidelines, and apply mathematical models such as VaR, CVaR, and EVaR. Furthermore, the course includes developing and designing a research proposal on a chosen risk management topic, ensuring a thorough and practical understanding of the field.


Successful completion of the  Level 7 Diploma in Risk Management provides learners with the opportunity to progress to further study or employment.  


Learning Outcomes: 


The overall learning outcomes of the qualification are for learners to:

  • Understand the principles and formation of agreements.

  • Understand aims and general principles of risk management.

  • Understand the sources of risk management.

  • Understand what strategy risk is and the different types of strategy risk.

  • Understand the significance of corporate governance in organisations

  • Understand how to construct research methods in the context of risk management. 

Entry requirements

For entry onto the Postgraduate (Level 7) Diploma in Risk Management qualification, learners must possess:

  • An honours degree in related subject or UK level 6 diploma or an equivalent overseas qualification

  • Mature learners with management experience (learners must check with the delivery centre regarding this experience prior to registering for the programme)

  • Learners must be 21 years old or older at the beginning of the course

  • English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country must provide evidence of English language competency.


The Postgraduate (Level 7) diplomas on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) are at the same level as master’s degrees. However, they are shorter (120 credits) and learners will have to proceed to the dissertation stage (60 credits) with university to achieve a full masters programme.

Qualification structure

The Postgraduate (Level 7) Diploma in Risk Management qualification consists of 6 mandatory units for a combined total of 120 credits, 1200 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 600 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Mandatory units
  • Principles of Risk Management

  • Strategic Risk Management

  • Responsible Leadership and Governance

  • Organisational and Environmental Risk

  • Risk Analysis and Modelling

  • Advanced Research Methods in Risk Management

Duration and delivery

The qualification is designed to be delivered over 6 months for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance learning. The qualification is delivered face-to-face, through lectures, tutorials, seminars, and distance/online learning

bottom of page